The SMALL SAFE STEPS program involves four levels.  Each level contains 10 small steps to create a safe environment for Children and Staff at your Centre.

Completion of each level will earn your Centre a SMALL SAFE STEPS certificate for that level.

There is no time limit to complete the program however the majority of childcare services participating in the program, complete all four levels within 12 months.

A WHS Induction for new staff and a WHS Refresher for existing staff are available to meet mandatory training requirements.

Even after you have achieved your four certificates, you are encouraged to keep actively involved in the SMALL SAFE STEPS program in order to enjoy:


  • Regular updates on the program material
  • The ability to update and renew the date on each of your certificates
  • Use of the Staff Training Module (for Induction and Refresher training)
  • Ongoing compliance email reminders
  • Continual use of Risk Assessment templates
  • Ongoing use of safety checklists and templates
  • Continual use of the Small Safe Steps logo on emails
  • Ongoing telephone and email support

The first 10 steps contained in Level 1 provide you with all the information and resources you need to help you embed a safety culture at your service. The steps include establishing a Safety Policy, a Safety Commitment Statement, a Safety Action Plan and Safety Performance targets. Risk Assessment templates are also available to download for various activities. The completion of a self-assessment checklist will then earn a Level One certificate for the Centre.

Level 2 looks at how you report and manage any potential hazards at your Centre that could pose a risk to children, staff, volunteers or contractors. We then turn to the reporting and investigation of accidents or serious incidents and then move on to establishing a conflict resolution process. Level 2 concludes by looking at Ergonomics and Safety training. The submission of a Level 2 checklist will provide you with a Level 2 certificate.

In Level 3 we start by looking at establishing some safety purchasing controls to ensure that all materials, supplies and equipment purchased for use in the Centre are safe.  We then look at Evacuation and Lockdown procedures including the need to conduct practice drills. Other topics in Level 3 include a review of all Fire safety Equipment, security measures and mandatory Child Protection training. The final topics in this level include First Aid management and Infection Control measures. The submission of a self assessment level 3 checklist will then earn a Level 3 Certificate.

The final 10 steps of the program start with a review of any corporate risks such as financial sustainability, achieving accreditation and enrolments. We then look at contractor management and safety controls for building projects. The next few topics concentrate on minimising risks in the area of manual handling, electrical safety, falls & trips as well as water safety and storing hazardous chemicals. Introducing Health and Wellness initiatives then finish off the final level. A level 4 certificate is then available after the completion of a Level 4 Checklist.